SusTech4Africa

In 2018, Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs developed the SusTech4Africa (St4A) concept. Through the St4A campaigns, OVO aims to promote sustainable entrepreneurship in African countries. In addition, OVO serves as a facilitator between African and European entrepreneurs, who can build a direct and reciprocal relationship with each other through these campaigns. Meanwhile, OVO organizes annual St4A campaigns in Uganda, Senegal, Rwanda and Benin. 


The process.


1) Project call
OVO targets small sustainable businesses that want to start or scale up. The minimum funding requirement is €50,000 and the business must have the potential to be economically profitable within three years. A local marketing campaign (through local partners and social media) attracts interested local entrepreneurs, who can apply via an online application form.


2) Screening & selection of 12 to 15 participants.
An initial selection takes place based on the application form. A local team of experts (often in partnership with a local university) then short-lists companies/entrepreneurs based on additional information they obtain. The final selection of 12 to 15 projects is made by the OVO - Team Investment in Belgium. The selected participating entrepreneurs must receive an admission ticket to eventually participate in the St4A Boostcamp.


3) Preparatory workshop of participating coaches.
The team consists of Belgian (former) entrepreneurs, who act as senior coaches, as well as Belgian and local students, to promote international cooperation. Under the OVO Talent4Growth Program, Belgian companies can contribute by encouraging their employees to participate in an ST4A Boostcamp, as part of their corporate social responsibility and training program. In Belgium, a preparatory workshop is organized for all participating coaches to align with OVO's objectives and further develop their skills.

 

4) SusTech4Africa Boostcamp.
The St4A Boostcamp is a multi-day bootcamp in the African country on sustainable approaches, business model optimization, financial planning, sales and presentation skills. The highlight of the competition is the prestigious evening where ideas are presented to the judges and potential investors. At the end of the bootcamp, the experts assess the potential of the different projects and the project owners to decide who will be admitted to the next stage.

 

5) Optimization of the business plan of the 3+ winning projects.
After the SusTech4Africa Boostcamp, the 3+ winning projects stay in close contact with the Belgian experts from OVO's Investment Team to further optimize the business model and prepare an ambitious but feasible business plan and financial plan.


6) Complete the financial needs of the 3+ winning projects.
The OVO Acceleration Fund converts donations from individuals and companies into social loans, which the winning projects receive based on their estimated financial needs. In addition, OVO's Sales & Marketing Team offers the projects to a network of business angels and impact investors willing to make a direct investment. Finally, the African entrepreneur is required to contribute 25% of the total loan.


7) Continuous remote monitoring.
Once the actual investment/loan is made, dedicated OVO experts will monitor and guide the growth of the invested company. Potential investors can help with this. Once the social loans are paid off, the money flows back into the OVO Acceleration Fund to support new projects. This allows for future use of initial donations to the OVO Acceleration Fund.

 

Didn't find what you were looking for?

A question about a project or our operation? You want to work with us? Become a volunteer? Take a look at our frequently asked questions or ask us your question without obligation.

SusTech4Africa

En 2018, Entrepreneurs pour Entrepreneurs (OVO) a développé le concept SusTech4Africa (St4A). Avec les campagnes St4A, OVO vise à promouvoir l'entrepreneuriat durable dans les pays africains. En outre, OVO sert de facilitateur entre les entrepreneurs africains et européens, qui peuvent établir une relation directe et réciproque entre eux grâce à ces campagnes. Parallèlement, OVO organise des campagnes annuelles St4A en Ouganda, au Sénégal, au Rwanda et au Bénin. 


Le processus


1) Appel à projet
OVO s'adresse aux petites entreprises durables qui souhaitent démarrer ou se développer. Le financement minimum requis est de 50 000 euros et l'entreprise doit avoir le potentiel d'être économiquement rentable dans les trois ans. Une campagne de marketing local (via des partenaires locaux et les médias sociaux) attire les entrepreneurs locaux intéressés, qui peuvent postuler via un formulaire de candidature en ligne.


2) Présélection et sélection de 12 à 15 participants
Une première sélection a lieu sur la base du formulaire de candidature. Une équipe locale d'experts (souvent en partenariat avec une université locale) présélectionne ensuite les entreprises/entrepreneurs sur la base des informations supplémentaires qu'elle obtient. La sélection finale de 12 à 15 projets est effectuée par l'OVO - Team Investment en Belgique.  Les entrepreneurs participants sélectionnés doivent recevoir un ticket d'entrée pour participer éventuellement au Boostcamp de St4A.


3) Atelier préparatoire des entraîneurs participants
L'équipe se compose de (anciens) entrepreneurs belges, qui jouent le rôle de coachs principaux, ainsi que d'étudiants belges et locaux, afin de promouvoir la coopération internationale. Dans le cadre du programme OVO Talent4Growth, les entreprises belges peuvent apporter leur contribution en encourageant leurs employés à participer à un Boostcamp ST4A, dans le cadre de leur responsabilité sociale d'entreprise et de leur programme de formation. En Belgique, un atelier préparatoire est organisé pour tous les coachs participants afin de s'aligner sur les objectifs de l'OVO et de développer davantage leurs compétences.

4) Boostcamp de SusTech4Africa
Le St4A Boostcamp est un camp d'entraînement de plusieurs jours dans le pays africain sur les approches durables, l'optimisation du modèle d'entreprise, la planification financière, les ventes et les compétences de présentation. Le point culminant du concours est la soirée de prestige au cours de laquelle les idées sont présentées au jury et aux investisseurs potentiels. A la fin du bootcamp, les experts évaluent le potentiel des différents projets et des porteurs de projets pour décider qui sera admis à l'étape suivante.

 

5) Optimisation du plan d'affaires des 3+ projets gagnants
Après le Boostcamp SusTech4Africa, les plus de 3 projets gagnants restent en contact étroit avec les experts belges de l'équipe d'investissement d'OVO pour optimiser davantage le modèle d'entreprise et préparer un plan d'entreprise et un plan financier ambitieux mais réalisables.


6) Répondre aux besoins financiers des 3+ projets gagnants.
L' OVO Acceleration Fund convertit les dons des particuliers et des entreprises en prêts sociaux, que les projets gagnants reçoivent en fonction de leurs besoins financiers estimés. En outre, l'équipe de vente et de marketing d'OVO met les projets à la disposition d'un réseau de business angels et d'investisseurs d'impact désireux de réaliser un investissement direct. Enfin, l'entrepreneur africain est tenu de contribuer à hauteur de 25 % du prêt total.


7) Surveillance continue à distance.
Une fois l'investissement/le prêt effectué, les experts d'OVO suivront et guideront la croissance de l'entreprise investie. Les investisseurs potentiels peuvent vous aider dans ce domaine. Une fois les prêts sociaux remboursés, l'argent est reversé dans le Fonds d'accélération OVO pour soutenir de nouveaux projets. Cela permet d'utiliser les dons initiaux au OVO Acceleration Fund à l'avenir.
 

Vous n'avez pas trouvé ce que vous cherchiez ?

Une question sur un projet ou sur nos activités ? Vous voulez travailler avec nous ? Devenir volontaire ? Jetez un coup d'œil à notre foire aux questions ou posez-nous votre question sans engagement.